Image result for marxist party in india logo

In the 1960s, the original Communist Party of India (CPI), founded in 1920, split into two, then three and four parties. The latter were variation of Maoists, who denounced parliamentary politics

the forte of the CPI. Many Maoist groups engaged in armed struggle in the mid-1960s to the mid-1970s 

In some states, especially Kerala and West Bengal where Communist parties gained such popularity that they won state power

communist leaderships have mainly come from the upper Brahmin caste with its standard hereditary privileges. 

M. P. T. Acharya.jpg

 m.p.t. acharya

Mandayam Parthasarathi Tirumal Acharya - iyengar- M.P.T. Acharya was born in 1887 in Madras (1887–1951) was an Indian nationalist, a key member of India House, and one of the founding members of the Communist Party of India


Image result for M. N. Roy images

Manabendra Nath Roy (21 March 1887 – 26 January 1954), born Narendra Nath Bhattacharya, was an Indian revolutionary, radical activist and political theorist. Roy was a founder of the Mexican Communist Party and the Communist Party of India.

Image result for Abaninath Mukherji images

Abaninath Mukherji - 3 June 1891 - 28 October 1937) was an Indian revolutionary and co-founder of the Communist Party of India.

Shripad Amrit Dange - (10 October 1899 - 22 May 1991) was a founding member of the Communist Party of India (CPI) and a stalwart of Indian trade union movement. . Dange, who remained the Chairman of the CPI till 1978.He joined the All India Communist Party (AICP), and later, United Communist Party of India


Geeta Mukherjee (January 8, 1924 – March 4, 2000) was a political and social worker and a seven time Member of Parliament elected from thePanskura constituency, from 1980 to 2000,

in the Indian state of West Bengalbeing a Communist Party of India (CPI) candidate. She also remained the president of National Federation of Indian Women, women's wing of Communist Party of India.

Image result for E. M. S. Namboodiripad images

Elamkulam Manakkal Sankaran Namboodiripad (13 June 1909 – 19 March 1998), popularly EMS, was an Indian communist politician and theorist, who served as the first Chief Minister of Kerala state in 1957–59 and then again in 1967–69. As a member of the Communist Party of India (CPI), he became the first non-Indian National Congress chief minister in the Indian republic.

Image result for Puran Chand Joshi images

Puran Chand Joshi - (born April 14, 1907, Almora – died November 9, 1980, Delhi), one of the early leaders of the communist movement in India. He was the first general secretary of the Communist Party of India from 1935–47.

Image result for buddhadeb bhattacharya

Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee- born 1 March 1944) is an Indian politician and a member of the politburo of the Communist Party of India (Marxist). He was the Chief Minister of West Bengal from 2000 to 2011. 

Image result for somnath chatterjee

Somnath Chatterjee - born July 25, 1929) is an  politician who had been associated with the Communist Party of India (Marxist) He was the Speakerof the Lok Sabha (House of the People) from 2004 to 2009.


Image result for Sitaram Yechury images

Sitaram Yechury (born August 12, 1952) is an Indian politician and a leader of the Communist Party of India (Marxist). He was elected as its General Secretary on 19 April 2015. He is a member of the politburo of CPI (M) and the party's Parliamentary group leader

Image result for Surjya Kanta Mishra images

Dr. Surjya Kanta Mishra -  Communist Party of India (Marxist). He served as Health Minister and Minister in-charge of Land & Land Reforms, Panchayats & Rural Development in the Left Frontgovernments of West Bengal. After the 2011 assembly election he was elected as Leader of the Opposition in the West Bengal Legislative Assembly.He was elected as the state secretary of CPI(M) ,